Explanation

Under certain circumstances, Email2AT Classic can automatically create new Autotask Contacts. This usually occurs when an email is sent to Email2AT, and the email is sent from an email address which is not associated to an existing Autotask Contact.

Autotask doesn’t allow any Contact to be deleted from the system if there are any associations to that Contact. Associations can include Tickets, Notes, Client Portal Accounts, and Opportunities, among others.

If you are unable to delete a Contact from Autotask, it most likely means that the Contact is assigned to a Ticket, or that the Contact has a Client Portal Account created for them.

Editing and Deleting

If the Contact has Tickets associated to them, the Tickets can each be edited to remove the Contact, and then the Contact should be able to be deleted. To determine what Tickets are assigned to a particular Contact, simply open the Contact’s detail page within Autotask (CRM > Contact) and then click the Tickets tab.

If the Contact has a Client Portal Account created for them, then it is not possible to delete this Contact under any circumstances. This is because it’s not possible to delete Client Portal Accounts (they can only be disabled). In this case, the only way to delete the Contact is to first merge it with another Contact.

Merging Contacts to Delete

Autotask provides a simple utility which allows two Contacts to be merged into one. The utility locates all associations for the Contact (Tickets, Opportunities, Notes, Client Portal Accounts, etc), and moves these from the Source Contact to the Destination Contact.

To merge two Contacts, please complete the steps below:

  1. Open a web browser, and navigate to your Autotask account here: ww1.autotask.net
  2. Sign in to your Autotask account, select the Autotask icon in the upper-left corner, and click on Admin.
  3. Expand the Accounts & Contacts section, then click on Contact Merge.
  4. Locate the Source Contact and the Destination Contact, then click on Merge.

If you would like to delete the old contact, please ensure you also mark the Delete Contact check box, found under the Source Contact field.

Creating a Trash Contact for Merging Trash Info

If you find yourself in a situation where a Contact was created on an Account, and there are no Contacts to merge it into, it may be necessary to rename the Contact to something like Trash Contact and set it to Inactive. In the future, this Contact can be used as a destination Contact for merging other erroneous Contacts. After some time, this single Contact may have many associations which are irrelevant, but this will be a single Contact with irrelevant associations and should be quite manageable.